Minutes of the regular meeting of the ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION held at the Community Futures Cowichan downstairs meeting room on January 21, 2010 at 7:30 am.

PRESENT: Dave Jackson, Vice-Chair

Director Kent Director Morrison George Robbins

ALSO

PRESENT: John Morris

Mike Kelly Pat Foster Joyce Behnsen Director Kuhn

Warren Jones, CVRD Administrator

Geoff Millar, Manager Economic Development Kathy Lachman, Business Development Officer

Judy Mills, Recording Secretary

ABSENT: Wade Simmons

Bruce Sampson, Chair

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Vice-Chair Dave Jackson chaired the meeting. Due to expired Commission member terms a quorum was not established therefore recommendations were made to be carried forward to the next meeting.

Two addenda were added to the agenda.

It was recommended the agenda be accepted.

ADOPTION OF MINUTES

It was recommended that the minutes of the November 19, 2009 Regular EDC meeting be accepted.

BUSINESS ARISING OUT OF MINUTES

Not applicable.

DELEGATIONS

D1 Cowichan Food Security Coalition

Judy Stafford, Executive Director (748-8506), Jessica Kerr, Bev Suderman and Susan Smith gave an overview on the Cowichan Green Community and presented the Cowichan Food Charter. Focus on environmental sustainable work and food security in Cowichan. Eighty to ninety percent of our food comes from offisland. Fruit program partnered with Providence to make cider,

provide education to food bank; community gardens, greenhouse for seedlings, composting; promote urban agriculture; Cowichan green map; food policy. Cowichan security plan was launched March 2008. Food Charter was created in 2007. Important to produce our own food and reduce vulnerability. Will boost tourism (Citta Slow), protect agriculture resources and reduce community hunger. Invitation presented to sign the Food Charter as a commission and recommend CVRD Board adopt charter. Discussion took place and it was noted that this could provide a template for Official Community Plans, policy direction for irrigation concerns and waste water, strengthen economy and increase attraction to investors.

It was recommended the Economic Development Commission support the Cowichan Food Charter and recommend the CVRD Board adopt charter.

CORRESPONDENCE

Not applicable.

REPORTS

R1 Projects Update

Agriculture Area Plan and Clean Technology updates can be found in the Discover Cowichan newsletter (distributed) or on the EDC website.

R2 Tourism Plan Update

Mike Kelly gave an update. The Community Foundations Program is a regional process made possible by a Tourism BC (TBC) grant which began in December 2009. The project deadline is March 31, 2010 as TBC will soon be absorbed into a government agency (Tourism-Sports-Art). Jennifer Houiellebecq, hired by TBC, is the project facilitator. Currently holding sector group and regional meetings. February meetings will include whole stakeholder body. Plan will be written by April 1, 2010 and will draw on Duncan and Ladysmith plan. Outcome geared towards grassroots organization run by Tourism operators. Expect recommendation to move from destination marketing to destination management.

UNFINISHED BUSINESS

Not applicable.

NEW BUSINESS

NB1 EDC Commission Appointments

The Commission welcomed newly appointed Director Morrison and re-appointed Director Kent. Past Chair, Dave Johel has resigned after serving five years on the commission. The CVRD

Board appointed Bruce Sampson as Chair and re-appointed Dave Jackson as Vice-Chair. Chair Sampson brings a tremendous network and strategic direction. The 2010 meeting schedule is yet to be determined.

The following Commission members terms expired December 31, 2009; Pat Foster, Mike Kelly, John Morris and Maria Lauridsen. With the exception of Maria Lauridsen everyone expressed interest to be reappointed for another two year term.

The Economic Development Manager will follow up with Wade Simmons regarding his extended leave of absence and future plans.

Discussions took place regarding the vacant First Nations seat. Recommended EDC make a presentation to the Cowichan Tribes Council and seek an appointment to our Commission.

It was recommended the Economic Development Commission seek Board approval for:

- 1. Commission appointments.
- 2. An alternate Vancouver Island University appointment.
- 3. Dave Johel's mid-term resignation and letter of appreciation.

NB2 EDC Appointment to Environment Commission Mike Kelly completed his one year EDC appointment to the Environment Commission. John Morris elected to take on this role for the upcoming year. Director Morrison will also be attending the meetings. Chair Sampson sits on the Environment Committee and is the appointee to the EDC Commission.

It was recommended the Economic Development Commission seek Board approval for the appointment of John Morris to the Environment Committee for a one year term to expire December 31, 2010.

NB3 VIEDA Prestige Awards Kathy Lachman, President of the Vancouver Island Economic Development Association (VIEDA) announced the VIEDA Prestige Awards will be held on March 21, 2010 in Victoria. These awards recognize individuals/businesses/organizations in the community who have contributed to economic development. ISCU is the awards sponsor. Currently looking for nominees who have made a significant regional contribution. Any recommendations can be forwarded onto Kathy Lachman by February 28, 2010.

NB4 VIEA Update

The Economic Development Manager reported that the Vancouver Island Economic Alliance (VIEA) has hired a consultant and sent letters out to all the Mayors and Regional District Chairs requesting economic data which will be used to provide a report for Vancouver Island. EDC will follow up and provide information to VIEA on behalf of the Municipalities and Regional District.

Pat Foster requested a benchmarking update for the next meeting including an analysis of economy versus where we are today.

CLOSED SESSION

Not applicable.

ADJOURNMENT

It was recommended that the Regular meeting adjourn.

The meeting adjourned at 8:55 am. Next meeting is scheduled for February 18, 2010.

•	Certified Correct:
Chairperson	Secretary
	Dated: