

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

October 12, 2023

## **New Regional Recreation Commissions**

**DUNCAN, BC** - Following a successful referendum in 2022 to implement a usage-based funding model for Cowichan's nine regionally significant recreation facilities, the CVRD established a new Commission structure for governance of those facilities.

Four new sub-regional Commissions have now been established:

- Cowichan South Recreation Commission, which will provide governance for the following facilities:
  - Kerry Park Recreation Centre
  - Shawnigan Lake Community Centre
- Cowichan North Recreation Commission, which will provide governance for the following facilities:
  - Fuller Lake Arena
  - Frank Jameson Community Centre
- Cowichan Core Recreation Commission, which will provide governance for the following facilities:
  - Cowichan Community Centre
  - Cowichan Performing Arts Centre
  - o Cowichan Aquatic Centre
  - o And receiving recommendations from the Cowichan Sportsplex Board
- Cowichan Lake Recreation Commission, which will provide governance for the following facility:
  - Cowichan Lake Sports Arena

On Wednesday, October 11, 2023, the CVRD Board appointed members to each of these Commissions, with a term expiring on December 31, 2026.

Members of the Cowichan South Recreation Commission:

- Kate Segall (Director, Electoral Area A Mill Bay / Malahat)
- Sierra Acton (Director, Electoral Area B Shawnigan Lake)
- Mike Wilson (Director, Electoral Area C Cobble Hill)
- Hilary Abbott (Director, Electoral Area D Cowichan Bay)
- Rob Douglas (Mayor, Municipality of North Cowichan)
- Brian Harrison (Community Member, Electoral Area A Mill Bay / Malahat)
- Mark Champ (Community Member, Electoral Area B Shawnigan Lake)

Members of the Cowichan North Recreation Commission:

- Alison Nicholson (Director, Electoral Area E Cowichan Station / Sahtlam / Glenora)
- Jesse McClinton (Director, Electoral Area G Saltair / Gulf Islands)
- Ben Maartman (Director, Electoral Area H North Oyster / Diamond)
- Duck Paterson (Councillor, Town of Ladysmith)
- Marsh Stevens (Councillor, Town of Ladysmith)
- Chris Istace (Councillor, Municipality of North Cowichan)
- Debra Toporowski (Councillor, Municipality of North Cowichan)

Members of the Cowichan Core Recreation Commission:

- Sierra Action (Director, Electoral Area B Shawnigan Lake)
- Mike Wilson (Director, Electoral Area C Cobble Hill)
- Hilary Abbott (Director, Electoral Area D Cowichan Bay)
- Alison Nicholson (Director, Electoral Area E Cowichan Station / Sahtlam / Glenora)
- Tom Duncan (Councillor, City of Duncan)
- Bruce Findlay (Councillor, Municipality of North Cowichan)
- Christopher Justice (Councillor, Municipality of North Cowichan)
- Calvin Swustus Jr. (Councillor, Cowichan Tribes)

Members of the Cowichan Lake Recreation Commission:

- Ian Morrison (Director, Electoral Area F Cowichan Lake South / Skutz Falls)
- Karen Deck (Director, Electoral Area I Youbou / Meade Creek)
- Kristine Sandhu (Councillor, Town of Lake Cowichan)
- Aaron Frisby (Councillor, Town of Lake Cowichan)
- Tek Manhas (Councillor, Municipality of North Cowichan)
- Mike Caljouw (Councillor, Municipality of North Cowichan)

The new commissions will have orientation meetings in late October 2023, and be in a position to review 2024 facility budgets in November 2023.

- 30 -

For more information, please contact:

John Elzinga, General Manager, Community Services Department Cowichan Valley Regional District john.elzinga@cvrd.bc.ca 250.746.2520