Land Use Services Department


The Land Use Services Department provides planning services within their two Planning Divisions: Community & Regional Planning Division; and, Development Services Division.

The Community & Regional Planning Division is responsible for guiding long term vision for each of the CVRD's nine electoral areas.  Planners within this Division are charged with the task of preparing Official Community Plans for each electoral area that set out policies, priorities, and guidelines for land use and community development.

The Development Services Division is responsible for implementing current land use planning standards.  Planners within this Division are charged with the task of preparing Zoning Bylaws for each electoral area that set out land use planning standards.

The two Planning Divisions together also manage the Official Community Plan and Zoning Bylaw amendment process, prepare various statistical reports, and address community planning-related issues and projects of concern.

Questions? Comments? 

General inquiries can be directed to our Land Use Services counter at:
 250.746.2620 or 1.800.665.3955 or


Electoral Area B - Shawnigan Lake

Advisory Planning Commission

Click here for the application form and further details

Please Note:  Due to unusually high workload levels and to serve customers better, Planning staff will be available for telephone and front counter enquiries between 1 p.m. and 4:30 p.m., Monday to Friday (excluding statutory holidays).  This is a temporary measure to allow staff to process the development application backlog.  Thank-you for your patience.