Minutes of the Inaugural meeting of the Board of the Cowichan Valley Regional District and Cowichan Valley Regional Hospital District held in the Board Room, 175 Ingram Street, Duncan, BC, on Wednesday, December 7, 2011 at 7:00 pm.

PRESENT: Directors M. Walker, B. Fraser, G. Giles, L. Iannidinardo, L. Duncan, I. Morrison, M. Dorey, M. Marcotte, P. Weaver, R. Hutchins, P. Kent, T. McGonigle, J. Lefebure, B. Lines, and R. Hartmann

ALSO

DIRECTORS

 PRESENT: Joe Barry, Corporate Secretary Kathleen Harrison, Deputy Corporate Secretary Mark Kueber, General Manager, Corporate Services Warren Jones, Administrator Sharon Moss, Manager, Finance Tom Anderson, General Manager, Planning and Development
Brian Dennison, General Manager, Engineering and Environmental Services
Ron Austen, General Manager, Parks, Recreation and Culture
Sybille Sanderson, Acting General Manager, Public Safety

CALL TOThe Corporate Secretary called the meeting to order, provided a reviewORDERof the evening's agenda and explained the procedure for taking the Oath
of Office.

ELECTIONThe Corporate Secretary announced the results of the 2011 General
Local Election and confirmed the names of the Directors elected for each
Electoral Area.

OATH OF OFFICE The following Oaths of Office were administered by the Corporate Secretary: AREA

DIRECTORS	Electoral Area A – Mill Bay/Malahat	Director Mike Walker
	Electoral Area B – Shawnigan Lake	Director Bruce Fraser
	Electoral Area C – Cobble Hill	Director Gerry Giles
	Electoral Area D – Cowichan Bay	Director Lori lannidinardo
	Electoral Area E – Cowichan Station/Sahtlam/Glenora	Director Loren Duncan
	Electoral Area F – Cowichan Lake South/Skutz Falls	Director Ian Morrison
	Electoral Area G – Saltair/Gulf Islands	Director Mel Dorey
	Electoral Area H – North Oyster/Diamond	Director Mary Marcotte
	Electoral Area I – Youbou/Meade Creek	Director Pat Weaver
OATH OF OFFICE - MUNICIPAL	The Corporate Secretary introduced the re- from the four CVRD member municipaliti	, , ,

following Oaths of Office:

	District of North Cowichan	Mayor Jon Lefebure	
	District of North Cowichan	Councillor Ruth Hartmann	
	District of North Cowichan	Councillor Barb Lines	
	Town of Lake Cowichan	Councillor Tim McGonigle	
	Town of Ladysmith	Mayor Robert Hutchins	
	City of Duncan	Mayor Phil Kent	
OATH OF OFFICE – APPOINTED ALTERNATE ELECTORAL AREA DIRECTORS	Electoral Area B – Shawnigan Lake	Alternate Director Kelly Musselwhite	
	Electoral Area C – Cobble Hill	Alternate Director John Krug	
	Electoral Area D – Cowichan Bay	Alternate Director Leslie Heinio	
	Electoral Area E – Cowichan Station/Sahtlam/Glenora	Alternate Director Mike Lees	
	Electoral Area F – Cowichan Lake South/Skutz Falls	Alternate Director Dave Darling	
	Electoral Area H – North Oyster/Diamond	Alternate Director Rob Waters	
OATH OF OFFICE – APPOINTED MUNICIPAL ALTERNATE DIRECTORS	District of North Cowichan	Councillor Jennifer Woike	
	District of North Cowichan	Councillor AI Siebring	
	District of North Cowichan	Councillor Kate Marsh	
	Town of Lake Cowichan	Councillor Bob Day	
	•	Councillor Don "Duck" Paterson	
	City of Duncan	Councillor Tom Duncan	
NOMINATIONS FOR CHAIR	The Corporate Secretary called for nominations for Chair and noted that, by previous resolution of the Board, the Regional District Board Chair and Hospital Board Chair are held by one Director, elected by majority vote from among the members of the Board.		
	Director Hutchins was duly nominated.		
	Director Kent was duly nominated.		
ELECTION BY BALLOT	There being no further nominations, nominations were declared closed and Directors Hutchins and Kent were provided an opportunity to address the Board in support of their candidacy for Chair. An election by ballot was then conducted.		
DECLARATION OF CHAIR FOR 2012	Director Hutchins was declared elected as Chair of the Cowichan Valley Regional District and Cowichan Valley Regional Hospital District Boards for the year 2012.		
NOMINATIONS FOR VICE-CHAIR	The Corporate Secretary called for nominations for Vice-Chair.		
	Director lannidinardo was duly nominated.		
DECLARATION OF VICE-CHAIR FOR 2012	There being no further nominations, Director lannidinardo was declared elected as Vice-Chair of the Cowichan Valley Regional District and Cowichan Valley Regional Hospital District Boards for the year 2012.		

ASSUMPTION OF Chair Hutchins assumed the Chair and thanked the Directors for their support.

11-661 It was moved and seconded that the Ballots for Chair of the Cowichan Valley Regional District and Cowichan Valley Regional Hospital District Boards for the year 2012 be destroyed.

MOTION CARRIED

ADJOURNMENT 7:35 pm It was moved and seconded that the Inaugural Board meeting 11-662 adjourn.

MOTION CARRIED

The meeting adjourned at 7:35 pm.

Certified Correct:

Chairperson

Corporate Secretary

Dated:_____