

DATE: 2 May 2019 TIME: 7:00 p.m.

MINUTES of the Electoral Area A, B and C joint Advisory Planning Commission held on the above noted date and time at Mill Bay Community Hall, Shawnigan-Mill Bay Road, Mill Bay.

PRESENT:

Area A:

Chairperson: Glenn Terrell Vice-Chairperson: Mike Pankiw Secretary: David Knott Members Area A: Archie Statts, Margo Johnston, Ken Hart, Frank Lockerbie

Area B:

Bruce Stevens, Dave Hutchinson

Area C:

Ed Voroney, Chris Abrahams

ALSO PRESENT:

Director: Area A Blaise Salmon, Area C: Mike Wilson

Guests: Kelsey Roze, Pieter deVries, Edwin Rebner

ABSENT: Area A Laurie Vasey

ORDER OF BUSINESS:

1. Application No.RZ19A01

Delegate present.

Applicants Trevor Dunn, Cameron Chalmers, David Greenfield and Josh Handysides (Malahat Nation) gave a overview of the Malahat Skywalk project. Questions and concerns by the commission were then asked.

Comments and questions: Majority all had concerns about the highway and the safe intersection that needs to be created. Increased use of turnarounds on the highway and the risks of accident increase Fire hazard and containment of run off water from fire fighting McCurdy Point Park access and liability issues. Safety Signage Re. Bill boards Evasive Species removal Sacred land protection Commercial aspect of Zoning

MOTION:

The joint APC areas A, B and C commission recommend approving the concept of creating a new comprehensive development zone. It was moved and Seconded that it be recommended that Application No.RZ19A01 be approved.

MOTION CARRIED

ADJOURNMENT

MOTION: It was Moved and Seconded that the meeting be adjourned at 8.30 p.m.

David Knott Secretary <u>Glenn Terrell</u> Chair