



NOTICE TO ELECTORS OF THE COWICHAN VALLEY REGIONAL DISTRICT AND THE THETIS ISLAND LOCAL TRUST AREA

AVAILABILITY OF THE LIST OF REGISTERED ELECTORS

Beginning Tuesday, September 4, 2018 until the close of voting for the 2018 General Local Elections and Assent Voting and the 2018 Thetis Island Local Area Trustee Election on October 20, 2018, a copy of the list of registered electors will, upon signature, be available for public inspection at the CVRD Office located at 175 Ingram Street, Duncan, BC, during regular office hours, 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday to Friday, excluding statutory holidays. Electors may request that their address or other information about them be omitted from or obscured on the list of electors.

ELECTOR QUALIFICATIONS

RESIDENT ELECTORS:

- age 18 or older; and
- a Canadian citizen; and
- a resident of British Columbia for at least 6 months immediately before the day of registration; and
- a resident of CVRD Electoral Area: A; B; C; D; E; F; G; H; or I; or Thetis Island Local Trust Area at least 30 days immediately before the day of registration; and
- not disqualified by any enactment from voting in an election or otherwise disqualified by law.

NON-RESIDENT PROPERTY ELECTORS:

- age 18 or older; and
- a Canadian citizen; and
- a resident of British Columbia for at least 6 months immediately before the day of registration; and
- a registered owner of real property within CVRD Electoral Area: A; B; C; D; E; F; G; H; or I; or Thetis Island Local Trust Area for at least 30 days immediately before the day of registration; and
- not entitled to register as a resident elector; and
- not disqualified by any enactment from voting in an election or otherwise disqualified by law; and
- if there is more than one registered owner of the property, only one of those individuals may, with the written consent of the majority of the owners, register as the non-resident property elector.

NON-RESIDENT PROPERTY ELECTOR ADVANCE REGISTRATION

If you are eligible to vote in the 2018 General Local Election and Assent Voting as a Non-Resident Property Elector, advance registrations will be accepted in accordance with the *Local Government Act* until the closed period begins at 4:00 p.m. on August 28, 2018 and runs until October 22, 2018. Applications to register in advance as a Non-Resident can be downloaded from the CVRD website or picked up at the CVRD office located at 175 Ingram Street, Duncan, BC, during regular office hours, 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday to Friday excluding statutory holidays. Eligible Non-Resident Property Electors may also register at the time of voting.

OBJECTION TO REGISTRATION OF AN ELECTOR

An objection to the registration of a person whose name appears on the list of registered electors may be made in accordance with the *Local Government Act* until 4:00 p.m. on September 14, 2018. An objection must be in writing and may only be made by a person entitled to be registered as an elector within Electoral Areas: A - Mill Bay/Malahat; B – Shawnigan Lake; C - Cobble Hill; D - Cowichan Bay; E - Cowichan Station/Sahtlam/Glenora; F - Cowichan Lake South/Skutz Falls; G - Saltair/Gulf Islands; H – North Oyster/Diamond; I – Youbou/Meade Creek; and Thetis Island Local Trust Area; and can only be made on the basis that the person whose name appears has died or is not qualified to be registered as an elector.

To inspect the list of registered electors and/or to register objections to the registration of an elector contact Kathleen Harrison, Chief Election Officer at <u>kharrison@cvrd.bc.ca</u>; or Shannon Carlow, Deputy Chief Election Officer at <u>scarlow@cvrd.bc.ca</u> or by telephone at 250.746.2503 or 1.800.665.3955.